Southridge Challenge ’08

picture-11 You know, sometimes I almost feel a bit guilty.

November should be the time for a nice, muddy cyclocross or an epic point to point in ridiculous conditions. It should be the time of year that drains and grates on you so physically, so as to make you really feel as though you’ve earned an off season.

So, as I was watching my alma mater kick the crap out of MSU on saturday, and seeing the snow in the air and the kerosene heaters on the sidelines; I almost started to feel cold. I got on the phone with one of my old buds who was actually at the game, however he was talking to me while hiding out in the restroom to escape the 20°  wind chill. Amazing.

I walked out onto the patio only to be greeted with the warm embrace of the subtropical sun of the Los Angeles basin. I told him it was about 80 here.  Now I feel guilty about going into off-season mode.

There’s still racing going on here. And this, my friends, is what SoCal looks like in November:

img_2810

The 17th annual Southridge Challenge went down over in beautiful* Fontana, CA this past weekend. Because of my aforementioned lapse into off-season slug mode, I didn’t make it out to the XC/Super D on Saturday. There’s no reason to embarass myself (Then again, there’s no guarantee that a replay of NMBS 08 wouldn’t happen).

img_2724There was a very healthy turnout on both days, however, and a few Kittybait staffers were on hand to throw down on the downhill course on Sunday. Our own Matty took home a 6th in a very fast Semi-Pro field. Not bad considering this was only his second race back after major knee surgery.

The pro ranks saw an awesome competition including a few World Cup guys battling it out amongst the locals. Old man Eric Carter (Mongoose)  took 3rd behind Aaron Gwin (Yeti) and David K (ODI-SRC). Less than one second separated the first 4 positions which was rounded out by Kevin Aiello (GT).

You can check out the full results here.

To see the gallery, click to

Leave a Reply

